top of page

Thanks for submitting!

  • Writer's pictureSophia Dunkin-Hubby

Corner of My Home: Entry Hall



Welcome to the third installment of the “Corner of My Home” series, sharing part of the eclectic apartment I share with my sister. Today I’m taking you through the entry hall.

Since it's the first thing you see when you enter our home and the last place we touch before we leave the house we wanted it to be both functional and a reflection of us. The function part was easy - we needed a place to put our purses and keys and a place to sit down and put our shoes on. Most of our apartment is carpeted so we take our shoes off when we enter the house so we don't track outside dirt everywhere. We used a two door cabinet of mine from Pier 1 as the landing place for keys and purses and a vintage Eames chair of my sister's for putting on shoes. A small glass dish corrals our keys and a vintage toast rack I found on Etsy corrals our mail. The last touch we added was a mirror for checking hair and lipstick before we walk out the door.

The decor part took us longer to figure out.

We started with the large cigar Indian in the corner that I was given as a cast gift from a production of Ten Little Indians I directed ages ago. It's a sentimental piece that I love and the colors go with the cabinet. Since we couldn't decide on one large piece for above the cabinet we settled on a gallery wall instead with lots of colors and textures. Most of the pieces we picked up on a trip to London - a print from the Victoria & Albert Museum, fabric from Liberty London, and wallpaper samples from Timorous Beasties. The other three are artwork that I bought directly from the artists. I'll be doing a post in a week or two on sources for art so I won't go into detail here. To tie everything together we bought black wooden frames from FrameUSA. They've got great frames, that are fairly inexpensive, available in custom sizes so you don't have to worry about finding a frame for odd sized things.


As I said, the gallery wall took a while but I'm very happy with how it came out. It makes a huge difference coming into the house.

How have you decorated the entrance to your home?

Sources:

Two Door Cabinet (similar) - Pier 1, Eames Chair - Design Within Reach, Faux Sheepskin - IKEA, Toast Rack for mail (similar) - Etsy, Wallpaper Samples (samples not available online) - Timorous Beasties, Black Wooden Frames - Frame USA

Non-sponsored post. All opinions are my own.

Photos by Sophia Dunkin-Hubby

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Unknown

bottom of page